Sixteenth Peacock

The Sixteenth Peacock

The peacock – one of the most extravagant and magnanimous birds, is an epitome of grace, majesty and beauty. Our sixteenth peacock is unique as it has 28 feathers that represent 28 Indian states. The leaves represent 8 Union Territories. The crest atop of its head stands for 5 themes of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav. Our richness and diversity is beautifully integrated into this masterpiece that takes the form of our National Bird. 

Finishing strokes in Blue & Green

Our sincere gratitude to Shri. Devendra Fadnavis ji, Deputy Chief Minister – Maharashtra State, for adding a few finishing strokes in two colors – green and blue, that blend to emerge as “Neela Rang”. While adding colors to the crest atop the peacock’s head, Sir reinforced five themes of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav – Freedom Struggle, Ideas@75, Resolve@75, Actions@75 and Achievements@75!

Thoughts behind the making of Sixteenth Peacock

Artist Ms. Mitul Pradeep ji used mixed medium to create the Sixteenth Peacock. This was absolutely essential to showcase the diversity, values, culture, heritage and art of our Nation.

Here's all about feathers that represent 28 States

Here's all about leaves that represent 8 Union Territories

The crown of the Sixteenth Peacock is our humble attempt to share five key themes of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

Freedom Struggle

Commemorating milestones in history, unsung heroes etc.


Celebrating ideas and ideals that have shaped India.


Reinforcing commitments to specific goals and targets.


Highlighting steps being taken to implement policies and actualise commitments.


Showcasing evolution and progress across different sectors.